Position update and tracking problem

Forum for questions and problems regarding PathAway GPS 4 SE for Windows Mobile

Moderator: Scott

twffm
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 2:13 pm

Position update and tracking problem

Postby twffm » Tue Jul 11, 2006 2:45 pm

Hello,

I have a position update and tracking problem.
If the GPS signal is not perfect (forest, cloudy) the position is not updated regularly and also no track points are set. Sometimes there is no position update for more then 10 minutes. I have PW4 configured to set a track point every 20 seconds, but there are gaps of 10 minutes and more between the track points :(

But the status of PW4 is all the time "3D Fix". GPS is locked all the time. When I disconnect/connect the position is updated and a track point is set.

How can I configure PW4 to make track point setting more reliable?
Or is this a bug :?:

PathAway GPS 4.00.36, Asus MayPal A632

Ciao,
Thomas

silber1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 12:55 am

Postby silber1 » Wed Jul 12, 2006 10:09 am

Thomas,
I think there is a setting in PW4 make points only if moving or change direction. Maybe this could be a reason.

twffm
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 2:13 pm

Postby twffm » Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:24 pm

Gerhard,
I have not enabled 'Record on Course Change only' and 'Record while Moving only'.
I have done some tests with 'Record by Time' and 'Record by Distance', tracking is unreliable in both cases.
I think the problem is the missing position update when the GPS signal is to weak, even if the GPS status is '3D Fix' and the GPS position is locked.

Thanks for your answer,
Thomas

User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Posts: 1033
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:49 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Scott » Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:30 pm

This appears to be a SIRFIII behavour. There are settings where you can enable and disable the stationary detection on these chipsets. If you're moving slow (eg. walking), then the GPS may not report position.

See this link for application utilities that can control this option.

http://www.gpspassion.com/forumsen/topi ... C_ID=39596

I beleive it is the SN (Static Navigation) switch that would work to correct this.

twffm
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 2:13 pm

Solved

Postby twffm » Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:29 pm

Thank you Scott, this solves my problem.

Thomas


Return to “PathAway GPS 4 SE for Windows Mobile - Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests