RESOLVED: GPS Fix Unsustainable on HTC HD2

Forum for questions and problems regarding PathAway GPS 5 PRO for Windows Mobile
pingth
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:38 pm

RESOLVED: GPS Fix Unsustainable on HTC HD2

Postby pingth » Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:46 pm

Hi, those of you who are using HTC HD2 with pathaway, is your GPS fix sustainable? Mine keeps disconnecting and then reconnects again and again every 10 - 15 seconds interval.

Is there any other adjustments to be made on the phone for those of you who have successfully used HTC HD2 with pathaway? Thanks.[/b]

pingth
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:38 pm

Postby pingth » Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:31 pm

Hi, I figured it out, u should select Magellan - NEMA and choose COM 4 instead of "Windows Mobile GPS". Then it should be fine. It might take a while to get a fix though.

jhinuk
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:01 pm

Postby jhinuk » Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:12 pm

Hi, is the solution still working for you? I have the same problem but can't get a fix no matter how long I wait with the setting you suggested. I wonder if other HD2 users are facing the same problem or is it just me.

User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Posts: 1033
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:49 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Scott » Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:17 pm

If you are having a problem connecting your HTC HD2 I would like to send you a diagnostics build to try to track down the problem. Please fill in the contact form at http://pathaway.com/contact.htm to notify me that you will try out this build.

jhinuk
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:01 pm

Postby jhinuk » Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:48 pm

Hi Scott,

Thanks for the fast response. I submitted a contact form. Thanks for the help.

pingth
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:38 pm

Postby pingth » Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:33 am

Hi jhinuk, yes, the solution I mentioned in the thread earlier works for me. It is not working for you?

jhinuk
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:01 pm

Postby jhinuk » Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:44 am

Hi pingth,

I don't think so. You mentioned it may take some time to get a lock, but I waited for a long long time, but I just don't get a lock. I can see that in that mode the software can connect to the GPS module and it is sending strings but that's about it. No lock.

As I said, I'm not sure I'm alone in this. However, as you may have seen, Scott wanted to give a solution. I'll let you know if that worked for me or not. He sounded confident that it will work.

Regards.

pingth
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:38 pm

Postby pingth » Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:57 am

Hi jhinuk, sorry to hear that. Yeah, let's hope Scott will be able to help.

User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Posts: 1033
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:49 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Scott » Wed Sep 15, 2010 12:49 am

Good news. I've been working with jhinuk and now "Windows Mobile GPS" protocol is working reliably.

Build 5.30.11 with this fix in is posted at http://pathaway.com/prerelease5/

Ensure you set your protocol to "Windows Mobile GPS".

navigator
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:39 pm

Postby navigator » Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:06 am

Hi

I tested the prerelease version 5.30.11 on my HD2 today and so far as I could see on the short trip I made it now seems to work reliably.
On previous versions I had the problems mentioned above.
Thanks for fixing this problem!


Return to “PathAway 5 PRO for Windows Mobile - Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests